Computer Projects

Project PowerBook (Part 1): Breathing Life Back into the PowerPC G4.

The 12″ G4 PowerBook, Apple’s original ultra-portable, gets little love anymore aside from the Low End Mac crowd. I purchased a used last-gen model before my move to Japan several years ago, and try as I might, I have not been able to part with it even after purchasing my early 2009 13″ MacBook Pro. For the past couple years it has sat quietly in a closet waiting, waiting… waiting.

Awaken, dear friend, you still have life left in you!

In an attempt to put all of my hardware to use, the faithful 12″ 1.5 GHz PowerPC PowerBook G4 has been reformatted with its original OS X Tiger, and upgraded to version 10.4.11 (via a combo update from Apple).

Slowly but surely, I will attempt to use this oldie but goodie as my work machine. Being that my current employment is in the education field, this 12″ PowerBook  will be used for word processing, desktop publishing, and making ESL listening tests.

On top of OS X Tiger, I currently have installed: TenFourFox, iLife ’08 (to use GarageBand), Open Office, and Scribus. More software is sure to follow, and as is a possible install of OS X Leopard (I’m still debating).

Stay tuned.

Standard

Leave a comment