Computer Projects

Project PowerBook (Part 2): OS X Tiger vs. Leopard

via creativebits.org

At release, the 1.5 GHz 12″ PowerBook G4 came pre-installed with OS X 10.4.x Tiger. And for “Project PowerBook” I had originally reinstalled OS X Tiger on my 12″ PowerBook, because it is generally believed to run faster with the 1.5 GHz PowerPC processor than OS X Leopard. However, I made the decision to install Leopard on my 12″ PowerBook for one simple reason: Leopard is the only operating system for the PowerPC that will run a version of Evernote. Between the office PC, my iPhone 4, and other computers, I have found myself more and more dependent on Evernote to keep myself and my ideas organized day-to-day. Since this computer will be used for work, Evernote is one piece of software that I feel I cannot go without.

In regards to a speed difference, after the initial Spotlight indexing for search, the PowerBook does not feel any slower on Leopard than it did with Tiger using TenFourFox or OpenOffice. While Tiger is probably a little faster than Leopard, having access more recent software titles like Evernote makes it worth being on Leopard even if said software is probably not supported anymore.

Standard

Leave a comment