Home > Uncategorized > iPhone 3G 16 gb backup issue.

iPhone 3G 16 gb backup issue.

December 5, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

facebookicon

I decided to start syncing my 3G iPhone to my 12″ G4 PowerBook, since I’ve been using it more than my Mac Mini. After migrating my iTunes files, I finally sat down and connected the phone to sync, and waited… waited… waited. The backup eventually failed after a while, stating the phone had been disconnected — which it hadn’t. On this lazy Saturday morning I decided to troubleshoot the problem.

After a little reading, the culprit turned out to be my favorite app: Facebook. Apparently due to the way Facebook files are stored on the iPhone, it causes backups to take forever… some people were reporting 3 hours to backup. The solution is delete the Facebook app from the iPhone, then backup. After your backup has succeded copy the Facebook app back to the iPhone, and things should run smooth again.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

