Home > Personal Finance, Project Pocket Change > Pocket Change Portfolio Valuation

Pocket Change Portfolio Valuation

One thing that I have been neglecting in my portfolio is comparing the returns to a major index like the S&P 500. After all, if I’m not beating the S&P 500, what’s the point of owning individual stocks. It looks like I’ve got my work cut out for me.

Through 2008 to date I’ve invested $860.00 of pocket change over 5 years, paid $24 in commissions, and earned $249.52 in dividends. A simple calculation leads me to a 38% return since day one. Of course, to find the true return, I’m gong to have to dig deeper.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

