Home > Photography > Canon meet Tank

Canon meet Tank

With only a 50mm lens, my shooting options were somewhat limited. Say, inside my apartment everything I wanted to shoot would be too close. I needed more options, and while there are lots of lenses, jeez they’re too expensive for my taste. After a little research, I set my eyes on a Tokina zoom lens. First, I contemplated one specifically made for digitals an f/2.8 16-50mm, but at over $600 I couldn’t go there. After a little searching on ebay, I came across the 28-70mm models that no longer made. After several bidding attempts, I was finally able to pick one up for a little over $200.

The Tokina 28-70mm F/2.6-2.8 is truly a tank of a lens. Its large lenses and all metal body construction, it’s quite a job to lug around. Still, buying a lens people say has the quality of a Canon “L” was what I was after. For $200 I think I got a good deal, it seems to be sharp and auto focus works pretty well. I have the feeling I’ll be using this lens for years to come.

Categories: Photography
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

