Home > Stuff > Downsize – part 2

Downsize – part 2

This morning I bid farewell to my trusty PowerBook. The buyer was someone like me a year ago who wanted to try a Mac and is interested in the retro computers. It was a good match, so I’m happy for the new owner. To complete the circle of life, here’s the final iBalance Sheet:

Purchase
PowerBook $450.00
VGA Adapter $15.00
Power Supply $30.00
Bottom Case $0.00
1 Gb Memory $108.00
Subtotal: $603.00

Sold
512mb Memory -$40.00

Total Cost of Ownership: $563.00

Sold

12″ G4 PowerBook: $425

For a final loss of: $138

That’s a cost of $8.63 per month of ownership. After experiencing a new OS, and learning how to take apart (and put back together) a PowerBook… I’d say I came out ahead.

Farewell, PowerBook! I hope you have a long useful life in the hands of your new owner.

Categories: Stuff
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

