Home > Eee PC, Mobile, Technology > Enter the Eee.

Enter the Eee.

December 4, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yesterday evening, I arrived at my mailbox to find a nice surprise. A post-it note from UPS, and my Asus Eee PC sitting in my apartment complex’s office. After unboxing and playing around with it for a few minutes, I must say it is a pretty nice gadget, especially at the $400 price range. I like it a lot. However, as a Sony Picturebook owner, I’m not in awe as some owners. For the past 7 years, I’ve owned a piece of hardware that is just slightly bigger than the Eee, as portability has always been the #1 prerequisite for my laptops. The Picturebook has a better quality screen with higher horizontal resolution (1024×480) and a better keyboard, while the Eee’s advantage is its internal hardware: faster processor, built-in networking, SD interface, 3 USB 2.0 ports, etc. It is nice to have a highly portable, light sub-note with modern hardware. As far as speed and usability is concerned, the Picturebook just wasn’t cutting it anymore. For e-mail and word processing it worked great, but with newer browsers, online video, flash, and AJAX web interfaces the Eee PC is where it’s at.

One thing to note, the Xandros OS that is included… it’s wonderful. Although I’ll probably be switching to Windows XP shortly, I’ve really enjoyed using it. Asus really has something here for target users who want to do all kinds of things on and off the web, without any hassles. With all the great open source software like Firefox, Thunderbird, and Open Office wrapped up in an easy to use OS, I wonder Windows popularity may start to waver.

Categories: Eee PC, Mobile, Technology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

