Home > Mobile > Day 2 using Windows Mobile 6

Day 2 using Windows Mobile 6

Without a doubt, WM6 kicks ass on the x50v. In comparision to WM5 (hacked to work properly) it continues to be more responsive, less of a memory hog, and has some cool features to boot.

  1. The new inbox is actually useable. It auto configures for gmail and other mail services, and it actually keeps e-mail in your inbox instead of deleting it after a second sync. It appears to also read HTML formated e-mail. Currently, I’m not even looking to return to using nPOPuk, inbox works great!
  2. Not like the browser is very good, but IE has a new high resolution view, that enables vga resolution inside the browser making browsing some sites just a little easier to read.  The browser would be better if it enabled zooming and panning like the iPhone, but we can’t have everything.
  3. Pocket Office apps are updated, I haven’t used them much, so I’m not sure what is different, they look pretty much the same.
  4. The deal breaker for me was Japanese support, and I’m happy to say it works! I installed Asukal’s Let’s Japan and IME (I’ll write more in-depth later) for WM5, and made WM6 completely enabled for reading and writing in Japanese. The IME SIP is super cool, and paried with Happy Tapping Keyboard I’m extremely satisfied.
  5. So far, the only reported downfalls of WM6 is the current lack of WPA wireless security, and for Japanese users, Messenger Live does not seem to work with the Japanese pack.

Being able to use gmail, internet, and Japanese on my Axim is wonderful. For the time being, I’ve currently stopped using my notebook for personal internet use, and although I’ll never be able to go 100% PDA, it’s nice to have a great useable pocket sized device again. WM6 provides all the functionality and speed I need without the bugginess and hacks required by Dells release of WM5.

Categories: Mobile
  1. emazur
    August 16, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    I searched google for a windows mobile ime and found your site. Currently I’m using a T-mobile MDA w/ Windows Mobile 5 with the Japan Asukal pack with the Bagoj IME as described in this thread:
    http://forum.brighthand.com/showthread.php?t=217045
    What advantage does WM 6 have in comparison when inputting Japanese? What I don’t like now is the multiple IME windows that float around using the Bagoj tool and I’m hoping to find a way around that.

    Also in a previous post you complained about the batteryrefill.com company. I had issues with them too last year when they wouldn’t ship my battery, they ignored my emails until I finally threatened to take legal action and they sent a refund. An alternative (in Japan) is
    http://www.baysun.net/refresh/index.html
    I used them once for a laptop battery and got it back in 2 weeks

  2. August 17, 2007 at 7:03 am

    Hi emazur,
    Thanks for your comment. I have have used Bagoj’s IME in the past, and yes those floating windows were indeed annoying. Although Bagoj’s project was an awesome contribution, and one of the better solutions for Japanese input at the time, there is a better alternative now, I believe it’s the actual IME from the Japanese ROM. You can get the QVGA version here. I assume you can read Japanese, so read the post. There is a patch that must be installed before you soft reboot. If the patch is not installed before the rebooting, you’ll have to hard reset the device and lose all your data. (I didn’t read the post a first, and had to hard-reset 3 times).

    So to answer your question, Japanese input is not necessarily better on WM6, because the new IME works the same on both platforms. I’d like to hear how it works with the keyboard though.

    In regards to Batteryrefill.com, they are very bad at returning e-mails. However, they have good customer service if you call. I assume you’re in Japan, so that makes it harder. I checked out the site you sent, and they’re a lot more expensive than I want to pay. I paid $35 for my Sony refill, Baysun.com would charge about $70 USD (8505 JPY). However, I’ll keep them in mind if I’m living in Japan again, thanks for the link!

  3. emazur
    August 17, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    This ime you pointed out works alot better- thank you for informing me. I didn’t need the patch because the T-mobile MDA is an HTC Wizard, according to the warnings the patch is only needed for non-HTC devices but thanks anyway for the warning.
    I only used it my the keyboard and it worked as it should. I noticed it would still write in kana even if I selected “romaji” from the keyboard drop down list, so I had to hit the 英数字 button on the soft keyboard to write in roman letters again, but that’s not really a big deal.
    It’s sad to say that my efforts may have gone to waste though- I’m thinking of moving back to Japan after several months hiatus but it seems this phone won’t work in Japan. Don’t know much ’bout cell phone technology, but after checking around it seems Japan is one of the very, very few countries who do not use this “GSM Quadband” signal that my smartphone uses.新しい携帯を買うのは面倒くさい。Especially annoying considering my smartphone put me back $250 or $300, and I’d probably pay double that if I bought a Japanese smartphone, not to mention the possible need for a different type of memcard. And apparently smartphones weren’t sold in Japan until late 2005, so I think there won’t be much selection. Properietary carrier signals and late-to-the-ballgame smartphones- I don’t see why some people seem to think j phones are so great (and good luck trying to get prepaids over there…)

  4. August 20, 2007 at 5:56 am

    Too bad you won’t be able to use your smartphone for much longer, but you should be able to recoupe some of the cost if you sell the device. As for Japanese cell phones, I think they’re pretty neat. And there have been a few Windows Mobile models on the market, but they haven’t been very popular. Currently, Wilcom has a Sharp model that looks to be pretty sweet. I believe that one uses the PHS frequency, but I’m not sure. SoftBank carries prepaid phones, but they used to be hard to find, and there were only 2 phone models to choose from. Good luck moving back there!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

