Home > Technology, Uncategorized > “New” computer

“New” computer

January 23, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Wow, it’s been a long time since I’ve posted. I’m sure I’ve lost my one or two readers. Oh well…

I didn’t think I’d ever get a new computer, but I did. Back in November, I was intrigued with getting a Mac, searching craigslist everyday, to see what was available. Prices are incredibly high for used Macs. For the newer models, it’s probably better to buy one new than used. It seems that for used Macs a few years old, prices are usually just 1 or 2 hundred dollars below what you’d pay for a new one.

In any case, I was able to find an old 867 mhz 12″ PowerBook in my price range. It is a little beat up, but works fine. After an OS reload, I was finally able to play around with OSX. The operating system took a little while to get used to, but after 2 months, I’m used to it, and like using it. It pretty much does everything I need it to, and has provided me with that new toy feeling I yearn for every few months.

I’ll probably keep this one around for a while. Although, I’ve been tempted to sell the PowerBook and get a new MacBook… I’m trying to fight the urge. Somebody please help me!!! I have to stop getting more electronics!

… oh, the Sony Picturebook? It’s happily sitting on my shelf, downloading software for my Mac! Soon, I’ll probably make it be my print server. It’s still got plenty of life in it, for one, I need a PC to hone my MS-SQL skills.

Categories: Technology, Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

