Home > Mobile, Technology > Too many gadgets?

Too many gadgets?

November 30, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

I finally got my Mobilegear… it took almost a month to arrive, but it arrived so I’m very happy. When I bought it I did not know what model it was, it turned out to be a Mobilegear II MC430, circa 1999. It is a pretty bare-bones machine, running Windows CE 2.11, but is very usable. Funny thing is, the Mobilegear is pretty much the same size as my Sony Picturebook, so no gain in portability.

The first day, I was able to get a wireless card running, and was able to set up nPOP to check my e-mail. Unfortunately, there is no SSL dll for WinCE 2.11 yet, so no gmail. In order to download my e-mail I needed to, once again, forward my e-mail to Yahoo! Japan. The second day, I was able to install 128 bit encryption. So now I can view sites that I couldn’t before like gmail, or my bank.

Now that I’ve had the device for a few days, it has been my main email machine, and I’ve been making a few spreadsheets. It’s a really nice machine to have around, I’m surprised it wasn’t more popular. I love not having to wait for it to boot up, I just turn it on, and it’s ready to use. 5 seconds after I turn it on the wireless connection is up and running, and my e-mails have downloaded before my Sony would have come out of sleep mode.

The Mobilegear is my little toy. I’m not sure what I’ll be doing with it in the future, but I’m definately happy I bought it. Did I mention it does Japanese? So cool!

Categories: Mobile, Technology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

