Home > Mobile, Technology > Another toy.

Another toy.

October 23, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

Back when I was in Japan, I purchased a Jornada 680 Handheld PC, one of those Windows CE devices with a touchscreen and keyboard, looking like a tiny laptop computer. It was really cool, however I couldn’t get it to connect to my Yahoo e-mail, which was a major problem. After messing with the Pocket IE frames in the tiny screen, I succeeded in making a single stock trade, but after that, due to the lack of proper encryption, I was not able to connect to the site anymore. Because of these problems, I sold the Jornada and eventually purchased my Vaio Picturebook.

Recently, my interest in the old Windows CE Handheld PC’s has grown again. I thought it would be nice to have a small device, with a keyboard, that turned on instantly, with which I could write e-mails, jot down notes, and write out my thoughts. Yes, my Axim can do this, but I want to use a keyboard. My Picturebook is small, and has a keyboard, but WinXP takes so long to boot up. Almost every day I’ve been lurking on the forums of the HPC sites, mainly HPC Factor, thinking how cool it would be to once again have an HPC. Most can handle wireless PCMCIA cards, CF cards to store data are so cheap these days, and there’s a lot of free software out there like qmail with which I can check my gmail account. The caveat… I need Japanese text support. The solution… I need to get a Japanese HPC. This would mean I have to get a friend to buy on on Yahoo Auctions, or I would have to wait until my next trip to Japan. 

As luck would have it, I didn’t have to do either. By chance I came across a Japanese model NEC Mobilegear II unit on ebay last week, and decided to pull the trigger. Luckily for me there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of interest in Japanese systems, as there was only one other person bidding on the item.  I won the item for $52 + $10 shipping, and now I’m just waiting for my check to clear.

I promised myself I wouldn’t be buying anymore computer stuff, but I think I’ve come to the realization that I’m an addict, a gadget addict. Mobile devices with small screens that fit in my pocket are like crack to me. If you see your stuff being hawked on Craig’s List, it wasn’t me.

Categories: Mobile, Technology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

