Home > Technology, Uncategorized > More than just TV.

More than just TV.

Since setting up my media server, I moved my dvd player to the bedroom, since there was no need for a third dvd player in the living room anymore. To play dvds I can use my xbox or play them from the computer. My wife however, did not like that decision, since she used the dvd player to play her CDs. Since all our music is now ripped to the media server, I needed a simple way for my wife to access our music without having to go onto the media server, a process which is more complicated than anyone should deal with (including me). Originally, I thought Media Center would work well, and it does. However, without the remote control, I find it too tedious to work with, and right now, I don't feel like spending $40 on another remote control, that can only control the computer.

My answer was TiVo with the windows desktop application. After installing the desktop app, and mapping the folders, music was immediately accessable using the TiVo. Navigation is slower than directly controling the computer, but it works well, and is pretty much no hassle. Currently, I don't think there are any advanced features like playing genres, but for our needs, it works just fine, and be best part, is my wife doesn't complain about not having her music anymore.

Categories: Technology, Uncategorized
  1. Pierre Lourens
    June 19, 2006 at 10:54 am

    Good solution, I am sure this will help people not have a billion DVD players in their living room. I love being minimalistic.

  2. June 27, 2006 at 8:26 am

    Being minimalistic is great, unfortunately, my AV rack would not appear that way: TiVo, Receiver, WMC Media Server, and Xbox. I think next, I’ll try and run everything through my moded Xbox.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

