Home > Technology, Uncategorized > Laptop batteries

Laptop batteries

Previously, I wrote about having to buy a new battery for my Vaio C1 Picturebook, and ended up picking one up from Fry's for about $130 including tax. While browsing a C1 forumthe other day, someone mentioned BatteryRefill.com. You send these guys your old OEM battery, and they will exchange it for another, with new cells. Getting the cells replaced is a whole lot cheaper than buying a new battery. In my case, they currently charge $35 for a cell replacement, even the $90 for a new one would have been better. The cool part is that the cells they replace the old ones with, hold a longer charge. When my current battery dies, I'm definately going to try them. So don't throw away those OEM batteries, get them refilled!

EDIT:

It looks like there are two programs. One they replace the cells in your battery, and send it back to you. The second, is an exchange program where they accept your battery, and send a replacement.

Categories: Technology, Uncategorized
  1. j44xm
    June 27, 2006 at 4:24 pm

    That’s a good thing to know about. Thanks for the tip.

  2. June 29, 2006 at 5:53 am

    I still need to wait for my current battery to die before I try them, unfortunatly that might be a couple years from now. One downer I’ve read is that the battery usually comes back blemished, I don’t think they have a clean way of dismanteling the battery. However, this would not stop me from using their service.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

