Technology

New TiVo Features

The other day, TiVo added some new features to their service if you your TiVo is connected to broadband internet. Now you can link your TiVo account to more Yahoo! account features like shared photos, weather, and traffic updates. You can also listen to Podcasts, view local movie schedules and buy tickets with Fandango, and play a few games.

I’ve played around with the features with varying success. All in all, I find them quite convenient, when they work properly (last night I had server errors). However, I really don’t think I’ll ever use these features because getting the information is just too slow. Unlike the native TiVo input interface, trying to add your account info is a painful process. It takes a couple seconds to navigate to each button. It also takes a several seconds to navigate through each different screen and page view. The thing I dislike the most, is the increased time it takes to load each item on the Music, Photos, and More screen, the thing I want to access the most is my server, and when I have to wait to get into it, it just sucks.

Standard

Leave a comment