Home > Technology > Fixing my thumb drive

Fixing my thumb drive

I’ve been a big fan of portable storage for a long time now. When the thumb drive first came out, I thought it was the coolest thing to hit the market. I bought my first one, a 16mb diskonkey device a few years ago. Two years ago, I bought a 128mb unit when I was in Japan. I was attracted to it because of the ability to run applications directly off of it. Over the years, I’ve installed many different apps, but haven’t used anything for long. Transporting files, and installing drivers has been what I mostly use it for, and it’s been a lifesaver.

Most recently, I used it while reinstalling Windows on my desktop. During the process, I accidentally deleted the partition on my thumbdrive. After much trial and error, I was only able to get it to recognize 110mb, which sucked. Tonight, I found a piece of software that reformatted it to 118mb, which is what it was initially. It’s on the HP website, you can find it here.

Categories: Technology
  1. February 16, 2006 at 6:08 am

    Interesting. I will have to look into getting a thumb drive.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

